Skip to content

Ill-Equipped

tumblr_lxfrhuYm881r22us0o1_500_large

It’s a funny thing.

The breaking of the shell that once encased a broken heart.

A shell that unveils a stronger, more resilient heart….person…life.

No longer protected by the bitterness and loathing of what occurred, you find yourself open and vulnerable to the elements of a life you’re ready to live.

With that comes some of life’s irritants; insecurity, doubt and apprehension.

Today, while sharing in these struggles of living fully, a dear friend stated something so poignant, moving and true.

She mentioned how someone told her how ill-equipped she was to be doing what she was, yet she was beyond successful and living a life by her terms. She didn’t meet the “prerequisites” of what usually must be done to reach that state of life, yet she was doing so at a level beyond most.

She told me that to ensure me that what I was doing and how I was living was more than enough.

She made me realize that I am ill-equipped for the norm. For the anticipated. For the path taken by most.

But it made me realize that I was equipped for the extraordinary. The unexpected. The path least taken.

With that comment, and my realization, I smile.

Smile as I stand bright-eyed and bushy-tailed towards all the elements that are bound to cross a soul wide-open to life’s experiences. A life that was never equipped for the anticipated. A life that proudly takes in the unknown.

And hell, I look forward to every second of it!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yes my dear, you certainly are equipped for the extraordinary. We used to talk about how each experience is preparing you for the next. You are awesome and I Love You.

    11/22/2013
  2. Anne Marie #

    FANFREAKINTABULOUS! That’s one of the many reasons I love you…kindred spirit…here’s to going where there is no path and making our own.

    11/23/2013
    • Love you my free spirited sista!

      01/03/2014
  3. Hi! I really enjoy your writing. Please consider sharing a short story for my new page http://www.milspouseprose.com It is new and I am collecting submissions. If you would allow me to reblog one of your posts with a pic that could work too. Thanks! Tricia

    01/28/2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

