Skip to content

The AWP Launch Weekend

Well the launch has begun. The weekend went quite successfully and it seems as though many came and got out of the weekend what i hoped: friendships, strength, understanding and more. Sitting in the theater and seeing the reactions of my fellow widows, exceeded my expectations. They whispered, laughed, cried, cheered and applauded. After the film was done I went to the front to speak. Emotions overtook me, some because I was in amazement that others got from it what I had the past 8 months of working on it, and others because there was so much beauty in that theater that night that our husbands should have been there to see.

We received a huge amount of publicity which I am happy with. The more people out there who open their eyes to the realities we go through the better. I thought it was funny that we made the front page of the Austin American Statesman, the paper that a year ago put Michael’s memorial pictures in the “Life and Arts” section 😉

Overall, I am thankful for those who have believed in the mission of The American Widow Project and in myself. I am blessed to be among some who truly implement what the organization is about and take advantage of the everlasting bonds made between us. They are the reason we are what we are and they are the reason I am still breathing today. We have just touched the surface of what we will become and what society will see from us widows! We have touched the surface on the legacies are husbands are still building in each one of us.

We are planning SO much but I just wanted to touch base about the launch.

Hope all is well!
Love, T

Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.
-Anais Nin

One Comment Post a comment
  1. LaNita #

    Loved the weekend. It seems so rare for those “simply fun” moments to come along anymore. And when they do, I know that I appreciate them more than I ever have. If nothing else, I have learned to truly take nothing for granted…

    07/23/2008

Leave a Reply

