Skip to content

Decide

Today marks 7 years since Michael was killed in Iraq.

It could be thought of as a day of sorrow, but for me, today is a celebration of decisions.

Decisions that dictated a life that I’m blessed to have been a part of for 6 years.

 

You see, it’s hard to mourn on a day that is a true reflection of how we should live our lives.

Michael decided many things….

Things that some fear to try, commit to, or experience.

 

He decided to lead.

To serve.

To love fiercely.

To always say what he felt.

To teach.

To care.

To live each day like it was his last.

To sacrifice.

 

He decided.

 

These decisions are not ones that I can look back on with sadness….these are decisions that 7 years ago put me on a path that led me to decisions that have dictated/will dictate the life I decided to take back….just when I thought all had been taken from me.

Through his example and remembering the core of one’s soul path, Michael has allowed me to fearlessly make decisions that I know I will never regret.

Whether those decisions will affect 22 (or 100) years of the life I may live.

 

So if there is anything I can ask of y’all on a day like today, it is to decide.

Decide to live life.

To learn.

To love.

To forgive.

To be challenged.

To embrace the unknown.

 

For me, my wardrobe choice for today is my decision:

-4

And I have a feeling that Michael couldn’t be happier.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Well said. I agree. ❤ U

    05/21/2014
  2. You are such an inspiration! I feel blessed our paths have crossed!

    05/21/2014
  3. Anne Marie Higgins #

    Eloquent, Beautiful, as Always, You are FANFREAKINTABULOUS Darlin’!

    05/21/2014
  4. I am so thankful for the love you and Michael shared. I am so thankful that you chose to transform the grief of losing that great love into a life’s work of so much healing and grace that has benefited so, so many of us.

    05/21/2014

Leave a Reply

